TEAM FUPRE, a team of Engineering Students of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources (FUPRE) who participated in the SHELL Eco-Marathon Race Competition on 2nd to 4th October, 2015 with its prototype race car named Delta Crux 001 in Johannesburg, South Africa has won the overall best awards to validate the institutions pride of place as the first and only Petroleum University in Africa.

The team broke the record of being the first and only team in Africa to win the first On-Track Award for producing African Most Energy-efficient Racing Car in the gasoline prototype category as the car ran for about 55.9km with just a liter of premium motor spirit (petrol), defeating Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Ahmadu Bello University who emerged second and third positions respectively to attain that feat.

Similarly, FUPRE Shell Eco-Marathon Team also won an Off-Track Award under the Technical Innovation category for designing a technology which makes it impossible to steal the vehicle, making TEAM FUPRE the second team in Nigeria to win an off-track award for Innovation after the University of Benin (UNIBEN) won it the previous year. The team competed against fourteen other teams from four countries at the Zwartkoys Raceway, near Pretoria, South Africa. The teams built energy efficient cars, and cars which can travel the farthest distance with the least amount of fuel are rewarded.

Fupre Team in its first appearance at the competition was the second team to pass the technical and safety inspection stage in South Africa and the first Nigerian team to do so in this year's event. The team was also the first Nigerian team to achieve a valid attempt (4 laps) on the race track and almost made three consecutive attempts. The racing car, Delta Crux 001 was produced from 80 percent locally made materials and about 20 percent, comprising the engine, wheels and tyres which were bought outside the country.

At the Competition, TEAM FUPRE was self-sponsored while three other Nigerian Universities, namely, the University of Lagos, the University of Benin, Ahmadu Bello University, and South African Universities were sponsored by the Shell Petroleum Development Company Limited (SPDC) Joint Venture, to build racing cars for the SHELL Eco-Marathon competition.

The teams are classified under the Prototype and Urban Concept vehicle categories. The Prototype category is to be powered by battery electric or gasoline (unleaded petrol), while the Urban Concept cars are powered by gasoline (unleaded petrol) or diesel. The winning teams designed cars that drive the the longest distance using the least amount of energy in their chosen category.

Speaking at the award ceremony, SPDC Managing Director, and Country Chair, Mr. Osagie Okunbor, stated that the company Sponsored the teams as part of its contribution to the development of education in Nigeria. He also said that the sponsorship of the students open an exciting phase in our long-standing support of Education in Nigeria.
The Team Fupre was made up of technically-oriented students and professional staff drawn from Mechanical Engineering and Electrical / Electronic Departments of FUPREs College of Technology and a few members of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC).

The award-winning Team FUPRE includes Ewhrudjakpo Efemena (the Team Leader) Otuazohor Precious, Otaigho Oghenero Favour, Okolosio Oghenekaro Elvis, Essien Aniekan Akpan, Udonsek Lawson, Aboribo Onome, Atagamen Judith, Adekoya Yemide and Mark Lange (a German intern in FUPRE). The Project Supervisor was Engr. Boye E. Thankgod of the Mechanical Engineering Department while Engr. Igbinoba Kevwe Charles (Elect/Elect Department) was the Assistant Project Supervisor.

While the team that lent technical support is made up of five NYSC members include Adekola Adeyemi, and Abdul Malik TajLaid, (all two of Production/Mechanical Engineering Department), Osas Omijie (Electrical / Electronics), Oseikhuemen Ibhadode (Computer Science), as well as the duo of Frank Onwobulu (Industrial Design/ Stylist and Osehoemomen Ibhadode (Manufacturing Engineering Department).